Travelling Omnomnivore

Join me on my travelling and nom nomming adventures!

High tea at the Goodwood Park Hotel, Singapore

I was super lucky to be treated to high tea at Goodwood Park Hotel on my recent trip to Singapore, and what a high tea it was! Forget dainty 3 tier platters of scones and little muffins. This was an all-out smorgasboard with anything you could conceivably want to eat for afternoon tea. And then some! I wish I had started blogging sooner so I could give you a more accurate account of what to eat. Alas, as this is not the case, I guess you’ll just have to take a little bit of everything, and make your own mind up. Which isn’t such a bad thing I suppose. There’s so much on offer that I guarantee you’ll find a thing or three to satisfy even the pickiest of palates.

IMG_2865.JPG
If there are 2 things I can definitely recommend though, they are the mushroom dip on the top of my first plate, and the foie gras round (with chopped pistachios on top) towards the back. I also remember the savoury filled croissant being a well balanced buttery salty-sweet treat. If you’re into the salty-sweet. Which I am. I don’t recall not enjoying anything on this plate.

IMG_2866.JPG
See? More mushroom dip and more foie gras. I only go back for seconds when I’m very impressed, usually. I seem to recall thinking the salmon was a bit on the dry side. But no matter, as it was time to head for moister sweets anyway. First things first, good scones served with fruit jam and clotted cream always get brownie points in my books, and these did not disappoint.

IMG_2868.JPG
The creme brûlées were served “undressed” but I added the fruits on top, not so much for artistic reasons, but more for practical purposes of transporting the maximum amount of food back to my table in one go. As it turned out, it made for a more pleasing photograph too. I like creme brûlées in shallow dishes as you get a greater sugar crust to creme ratio, and I’ve long considered the top to be the best part of a creme brûlée. The Goodwood Park creme brûlée was notable only for the good amount of sugar crust. The flavour and texture were nothing special otherwise.

IMG_2867.JPG
Finally, the remaining desserts. The most exciting thing on offer was probably the chocolate fondue with a wide selection of items on offer for dipping, including both international and local fruits. The truffles and chocolate mousse were also memorable out of everything else on my plate.

Service:
The waitstaff were polite and cleared our plates at appropriate intervals. Service was neither disappointing nor outstanding, but was as expected for that location and price.

Ambience:
The ambience to me was one of decadence and indulgence, with those overflowing bounteous tables from which to make your selections and the comfy armchairs. Luckily, as I was on holiday, it was exactly what I needed. This high tea was enough to fuel me for the rest of the day’s explorations without need for dinner or supper that day, allowing me more time to walk and shop. Perfect!

Cost:
$45 per adult, which includes 2 servings of coffee and/or tea.

Verdict:
Well, I’m from Perth, Australia, so my expectations aren’t that high anyway. I enjoyed this more than most if not all of the high teas on offer in Perth, and not just because of the variety on offer. I thought the food was great too. I’d go again except that there are so many other high teas I would like to try next time I visit Singapore.

As a final tip, remember to go hungry and dressed in loose clothing! If you’re going to turn up to a high tea buffet, there’s no point in being shy about it. Just go all out, I say, and save your exercise for another day.

Have you had the high tea here? What about elsewhere in Singapore? What should I try next time I’m there?

If you enjoyed this post, please click “like” or “follow”.

Questions? Comments? Thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on October 13, 2014 by in Noms, Restaurants, Singapore and tagged , , , , , .
Practical Wanderlust

Budget Travel Blog

greentealicious

A blog that explores anything green tea.

Lifestyle By Lily Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

french ideas

Fine places in France and around the world.

The Flying Sapiens

Travel Anecdotes. Told Colloquially.

A Flash Packers Guide

Books written by flash packers for the savvy traveller.

I've Got Cake

|| Food vs. Style||

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango ♪ ♪ ♪ ...

The Sweet and Savory Bite

Enjoying good food.

Journalist On The Run

Bringing Stories Homes

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Dulcia Mira

Brightening Life with Homemade Desserts & Delicious Sweet Treats ~

Smiling in Sonoma

Explore Sonoma County's beauty through wine, food, music, hiking, and photography.

Everythingaroundcoffee&coffee

coffee culture, Cities, trends, roasters, love, health food, nut bars, communities,

Roses on the Road

Nomadic newlyweds exploring the meaning of home

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

