Travelling Omnomnivore

Join me on my travelling and nom nomming adventures!

12 tips for taking better travel photos

I am by no means a professional photographer. In fact, considering the number of close friends that I have who are semi-professional photographers, who would be very generous not only with their time and advice if I wanted to learn more, but also their gear if I wanted to practise with different lenses and filters without having to go out there and buy my own – well, I would actually consider myself a lazy photographer for not making full use of all those perks that would be readily available to me if I only had the inclination to ask.

Nevertheless, in looking at my photos from the last 10 years or so that I’ve been travelling the globe, I can definitely see an improvement. Of course, some of it has to do with the fact that I have a much better camera now. But I also think that I’ve learned a few things about the composition of my photos over the years. Some things were drummed into me by my many friends who are much better photographers than myself. Other things were picked up by just going out there and taking lots of photos, then coming back and analysing them, working out what works best to create a picture that is not only pleasing to the eye, but also tells a story. And at the end of the day, those are the photos that I find myself looking at over and over again when I’m back home reminiscing about the places I’ve been. Those are the ones that would be worthy of being blown up and hung on a wall.

Here are some of the basic principles I generally adhere to when I’m taking travel photos. And I really do mean basic. So no scoffing from the pros please.

1. Zoom in on the details
Sometimes, just one part of a building or structure is more than the sum of its parts. Take this statue of St Paul outside the St Sulpice Church in Paris.
IMG_0757.JPG
I would argue that the zoomed in picture tells more of a story. By focussing on his foot, I am highlighting the devotion of the person who placed the roses by it and said a prayer while laying hands on the sculpted foot.

IMG_0758.JPG

Then there are those times when a structure is so iconic you just don’t need to photograph the entire edifice. There’s nothing wrong with this photo.

IMG_2996.JPG
But somehow, I’ve always preferred these next 2.

IMG_2997.JPG

IMG_2998.JPG

2. But don’t forget to take an overview photo as well to set the scene.
As I mentioned this past week in my post on gardens, I have been known to get so caught up in the details that I’ve forgotten to simply take a step back and enjoy the big picture. I have loads of great tulip photos like this from my time at the Keukenhof Garden in Holland.

IMG_2970.JPG
But these photos could have been taken anywhere. How I wish I had remembered to also take a few zoomed out photos like this one taken from the Keukenhof website’s Flickr account.

IMG_3011.JPG

3. Natural colours are best
A few years ago, I was mad about that vintage look and shot virtually all my photos in lomography style. Now I look back at those pictures and realise it was just a fad. There’s nothing wrong with playing with a few special effects now and then, but natural colours stand the test of time, I think. Here is a lomo photo of Butchart Garden, followed by a natural one. Which do you prefer?

IMG_3012.JPG

IMG_2626.JPG

4. Straight lines are good too
I have already alluded to my other crazy photography obsession, crooked photos. Now, I’m not discounting crooked photos entirely. I think there’s a time and a place for them if done sparingly. For instance, this one taken in Quebec City is one of my favourites.

IMG_3013.JPG
However, after making a few photobook albums now, I realise that the artistic impact of the crooked photo is diminished if they’re all like that. Then it just looks like sheer laziness for not wanting to line your camera screen up nicely against the horizon or the lines of the building you’re photographing. Which in all honesty was probably the real reason I was taking so many crooked photos. These days, I think the 2nd photo below is better than the first.

IMG_3014.JPG

IMG_2814.JPG

5. Take the time to position yourself in a way so as to crop out people or unsightly objects
It’s unbelievable how many people don’t bother cropping out unwanted persons or objects in photos. Just take a look at this photo someone took of me in front of the Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris. Cropping out the man to my right would have been a really simple matter of just stepping a little to the left and angling the camera a little to the right.

IMG_3016.JPG

Similarly, I loved this little courtyard in Basel, Switzerland, but not so much the cars parked inside.

IMG_0759.JPG
Easily fixed.

IMG_0760.JPG

6. And sometimes, you need time to just wait for that perfect shot
I mentioned how I once waited for about half an hour in one spot to get the perfect vehicle-less, people-free, non-glare (from the sun, which was poking in and out of the cloud cover above) photo at a crooked little laneway in Montmartre. Would it surprise you to learn that this is a not too uncommon occurrence for me? This is definitely one of the perks of independent solo travelling, being able to take your time to compose the perfect shot. Take this series of photos taken at the cloisters of the Basel Munster. The first one had the shadows I wanted but also other tourists in the shot, the second one was devoid of people but also the shadows as the sun momentarily hid behind a cloud, and it was only in waiting awhile that I finally captured the image I had desired.

IMG_0761.JPG

Similarly, here’s an OK photo at the Barfusserplatz in Basel.

IMG_0762.JPG
It was worth standing there at the ready with my finger on half shutter until a tram came by, don’t you think?

IMG_0763.JPG

7. Forget flash
I know we would all like to avoid blurry photos taken in low level light, like this abomination of a picture snapped by me (eep!) at the bone church in Kutna Hora, Czech Republic.

IMG_3017.JPG
But trust me, flash is not the way to do it. In fact, I so dislike the artificial colours of flash photos that I don’t have an example to show you how horrible I think they are. If you hold your camera steady with both hands, you can take a shot without worrying about camera shake if you control the shutter speed to remain at around 1/50 or 1/40s. If you can find a flat surface to rest your camera, you can get away with shutter speeds as low as 1/15 or 1/10s. Just remember to turn on your timer function so as to minimise shake from pressing the shutter. Or invest in a shutter release cable. Another option is to increase your ISO. Just remember that if your ISO is too high, you may end up with grainy photos. Bearing all these things in mind, I can now take reasonable night shots like this one taken at the Gardens by the Bay in Singapore without having to compromise on my “no flash” rule.

IMG_0733.JPG

8. Unposed photos tell more of a story
It’s nice to stand in front of a famous monument and get your photo taken as proof that you were there. But many of my favourite photos show my friends doing or looking at something, like this one taken outside the Empress Hotel in Victoria, Canada, instead of that usual boring portrait pose.

IMG_3019.JPG

9. While you’re at it, take some unposed photos of random people around you too
The thing about tourist destinations is that they’re full of tourists. Sometimes, there’s just nowhere to position yourself and no way to wait all day just so you can snap a photo devoid of people. In these instances, look out for the person or persons that can help tell your story, like this cellist at the steps of the Sacre Coeur in Paris.

IMG_2291-0.JPG

IMG_2292-0.JPG

Or this couple outside the St Maclou Church in Rouen.

IMG_2509-0.JPG

I quite like the contrast between this businessman and the gypsy woman outside the St Paul Church in Paris.

IMG_3022.JPG

In a less crowded and noisy place, you may want to turn the sounds off on your camera, like when I sneaked this picture of a peaceful and reflective moment at the Church of the Anunciation in Nazareth, Israel.

IMG_3020.JPG

10. Look out for reflections
Ever noticed how a photo of a still lake with a crystal clear reflection always seems to elicit lots of positive reactions? Well, you can also find reflections in rain puddles, mirrors (great for taking self portraits) and just about any shiny metal surface if you could just be bothered to look. See this stained glass window at the St Germain de Pres church in Paris?

IMG_0764.JPG
Somehow looks better as a reflection, don’t you think? Especially as it was taken in a place of reflection? Like what I did there?

IMG_0765.JPG

11. And also movement
Capturing movement in a photo is also a great way to tell a story, in my opinion. You may be one of those people who likes to jump in front of a famous landmark. Good for you. Know that, as someone who can neither jump high nor gracefully, I am insanely jealous! I’ve tried those jumping shots before. A whole lot of hassle, at least a dozen takes, and nothing good to show for the effort.

Instead, I try to capture movement as I see it before me. This requires having your camera poised at the ready, but the end result is one of immense satisfaction. Like this photo of what I would consider to be quintessential Amsterdam – a cyclist.

IMG_0766.JPG

What about a waterfall? This requires a bit more setup, as there usually isn’t a ledge in national parks on which to set your camera. So you’ll probably need to carry a tripod and possibly a dark filter with you to compensate for the slow shutter speed required and the consequent overabundance of light entering your camera.

IMG_2627.JPG

You can even create movement where there is none. Here I am in the St Germain de Pres church again, playing around with candle light and stained glass window effects derived from zooming in or out while taking a long exposure shot.

IMG_0767.JPG

12. Remember the 2/3:1/3 rule
There is a natural tendency to want to place your subject or the horizon smack bang in the middle of the photo. But did you know that dividing your photo into thirds actually gives a result that is more pleasing to the eye? Take this photo of sculptures on a post in Zurich. The zoomed in photo is not very interesting at all.

IMG_0768.JPG
Just taking a step back so that there’s about 1/3 white space somehow makes a difference.

IMG_0769-0.JPG

Here’s another example with the man who got stuck in a wall in Montmartre as an example. I wasn’t that pleased with a front on shot.

IMG_0770.JPG

So tried again from the side.

IMG_0771.JPG

Somehow this shot with roughly 2/3 white space is better than the previous one with roughly 1/2 white space, don’t you think?

IMG_0772.JPG

Which brings me to this – above all, remember to practise practise practise! There is simply no excuse in this day and age of digital photography where you can take 100s of photos without having to worry about the cost of buying numerous rolls of film and getting them developed. You can even check your photo instantly to see if you’re happy with the result, and if not, just re-frame your shot or change a few settings and try again until you get it right!

What are some of your tips for travel photography? Do let me know as I’m still learning too!

If you enjoyed this post, please click “like” or “follow”.

7 comments on “12 tips for taking better travel photos

  1. Rita Selvarat
    October 19, 2014

    I love all your pictures. I always liked photographs taken at a all different angles. Like yours are very professional. Makes the blog really interesting to read. You explained really well up above of how to take a good shot. I’m an iPhone photographer. hahaha.. (need to up my game), and my friend who is not a professional but an amazing artist and an avid photographer thought me a little bit about taking pictures. It always bothers us when you ask someone to take a picture of us, it’s always like stand and shoot and shake. It’s always blurry, long torsos and very short legs, feet missing, part of building missing etc. I think photos are so important for the memories we make. I’m thinking of buying a good camera this year for Christmas. Maybe you can teach me more then. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • bibtie
      October 19, 2014

      I axtually use my iPhone a lot too, nowadays the phone cameras are actually pretty good! But I’d be glad to help when you get your new camera 😊

      Like

  2. Pingback: A day in Zurich | Travelling Omnomnivore

  3. Pingback: Top tips, trips and noms | Travelling Omnomnivore

  4. franzdomasian
    December 4, 2014

    Hello! Found this interesting πŸ™‚ Would definitely keep this in mind on my next travel πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Pingback: Top tips, trips and noms | Travelling Omnomnivore

Questions? Comments? Thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on October 18, 2014 by in Journal, Photography, Tips, Travels and tagged .
Practical Wanderlust

Budget Travel Blog

greentealicious

A blog that explores anything green tea.

Lifestyle By Lily Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

french ideas

Fine places in France and around the world.

The Flying Sapiens

Travel Anecdotes. Told Colloquially.

A Flash Packers Guide

Books written by flash packers for the savvy traveller.

I've Got Cake

|| Food vs. Style||

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango β™ͺ β™ͺ β™ͺ ...

The Sweet and Savory Bite

Enjoying good food.

Journalist On The Run

Bringing Stories Homes

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Dulcia Mira

Brightening Life with Homemade Desserts & Delicious Sweet Treats ~

Smiling in Sonoma

Explore Sonoma County's beauty through wine, food, music, hiking, and photography.

Everythingaroundcoffee&coffee

coffee culture, Cities, trends, roasters, love, health food, nut bars, communities,

Roses on the Road

Nomadic newlyweds exploring the meaning of home

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

