Travelling Omnomnivore

Join me on my travelling and nom nomming adventures!

5 for Friday – Paris Rouge

As mentioned last week, I was encouraged by the Blogging 201 challenge to buddy up with a fellow blogger. My blogging buddy has inspired me to stick to a RED theme this month for my 5 for Friday posts.

RED is the colour of passion and love, and so it is fitting that it can be readily found throughout the most romantic city of all, Paris. In fact, when I was going through my photos, I found it hard to pick out just 5 RED photos of Paris. In the end, I decided to pick out 5 that epitomise what I love about this great city.

IMG_3834.JPG
OK, not the metro per se, which I actually find quite stuffy, often smelly, and sometimes seedy. But I think the red metro signs around town are super cute. I love their vintage appeal, and to go with that, I love that old does not automatically equate to rubbish in Paris. From books to doorknobs to furniture, and from bouquinistes’ stalls along the Seine to larger markets further afield, Paris is a cornucopia of antiques for those who have the time and inclination to search. I also love that even something so simple as a metro sign has been designed to be visually appealing in a classically elegant way, reflective of that Parisian flair for chicness.

IMG_3837.JPG
This is an obvious one. From foie gras to escargots to cheese and champagne, I love French food. Even more so when it’s served in a darling little French cafe or bistro. Rich, buttery, flavoursome, beautifully presented. Yet one can hardly find an overweight Parisian around. This is because they savour their food, and consequently partake of smaller portions. I noticed that they take long lunch breaks, and when they’re eating, they concentrate on the food and the company. No snacking on the run, and I’m told, no snacking between meals. I also love this photo for demonstrating that favourite Parisian tradition of sitting out in the al fresco area while watching the world go by.

IMG_3836.JPG
This photo taken in Passy shows a quintessential narrow Parisian street flanked by al fresco dining areas. Greater Paris is actually quite compact and easily walkable, and there’s nothing I like more than to just lose myself in narrow streets like this one. I also love that the little girl on the foreground has on a red coat. It reminds me of a red coat I used to have as a little girl living in England.

IMG_3839.JPG
You know what I love more than French food? French desserts. OK, I know what some of you are thinking – that they’re the same thing. But I really do love sweets that much, especially when they’re this pretty to look at, and perfectly delectable to boot. Want to know my top picks of French patisseries? Take a look here.

IMG_3835.JPG
So this photo taken of the love locks on the Pont des Arts surely needs no explanation. As Ella Fitzgerald once said, “I love Paris every moment, every moment of the year.”

Have you noticed that the colour of love and passion is all around Paris? Do you have a great RED photo you’d like to share? Or a favourite spot in Paris?

If you enjoyed this post, please click “like” or “follow”.

2 comments on “5 for Friday – Paris Rouge

  1. Pingback: Thinking of home in red | redandfound

  2. redandfound
    November 18, 2014

    Reblogged this on redandfound and commented:
    Paris in red 🙂

    Like

Questions? Comments? Thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on November 14, 2014 by in 5 for Friday, France, Paris, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
Practical Wanderlust

Budget Travel Blog

greentealicious

A blog that explores anything green tea.

Lifestyle By Lily Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

french ideas

Fine places in France and around the world.

The Flying Sapiens

Travel Anecdotes. Told Colloquially.

A Flash Packers Guide

Books written by flash packers for the savvy traveller.

I've Got Cake

|| Food vs. Style||

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango ♪ ♪ ♪ ...

The Sweet and Savory Bite

Enjoying good food.

Journalist On The Run

Bringing Stories Homes

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Dulcia Mira

Brightening Life with Homemade Desserts & Delicious Sweet Treats ~

Smiling in Sonoma

Explore Sonoma County's beauty through wine, food, music, hiking, and photography.

Everythingaroundcoffee&coffee

coffee culture, Cities, trends, roasters, love, health food, nut bars, communities,

Roses on the Road

Nomadic newlyweds exploring the meaning of home

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

