Travelling Omnomnivore

Join me on my travelling and nom nomming adventures!

Where to find the BEST ice-cream?

I haven’t always had such a discerning palate for ice-cream, and indeed both my visits to Italy pre-dated my Thermomix and hence my ice-cream making days. As I am therefore unable to give you an accurate comparison, I am reluctant to proclaim this the best ice-cream in the world, but it’s certainly the best ice-cream I can remember tasting to date.

I’m talking about this little gem situated in the Hayes Valley area of San Francisco.

IMG_3916.JPG

Smitten ice-cream is made to order using liquid nitrogen to rapidly freeze the creme anglaise mixtures in just a couple of minutes. The result is the smoothest, creamiest, freshest ice-cream you could imagine, free of any preservatives, stabilisers or emulsifiers.

Remember when I once mentioned walking halfway back to my hotel, only to turn around so I could have a 2nd scoop of ice-cream? This was the very ice-cream that tempted me so. I’d ordered a scoop of vanilla malt, and it was soooooo GOOOOOD that I just HAD to return and try another flavour. So back I went for coffee.

I don’t really know why I was feeling so boring that day, because there are a whole ton of exciting flavours available at Smitten, for instance olive oil with lavender cookies, sweet corn with berries, creme fraiche with pear caramel, Earl Grey with milk chocolate, strawberry white balsamic, and MORE! I’m salivating just thinking about it. There are also various exciting toppings, including a homemade nut brittle and malt syrup, but if you ask me, it’s best to have the ice-cream on its own to truly appreciate the delicious flavour and amazing texture.

WHERE can one find these scoops of pure pleasure?
The one I went to is situated at 432 Octavia St, San Francisco.
This is open 12-10pm Mondays and Tuesdays, 12-10.30pm Wednesday-Friday, 11am-10.30pm Saturdays and 11am-10pm Sundays.


There are also branches at Los Altos, Rockridge and Lafayette, all in California – click here for more details.

Do you live in San Francisco or are you there now? Go get yourself a scoop (or MORE!) and let me know what you think. If you think there’s better ice-cream to be had elsewhere, I NEED to know where!

If you enjoyed this post, please click “like” or “follow”.

4 comments on “Where to find the BEST ice-cream?

  1. Girl Gone Expat
    November 18, 2014

    I’ll be sure to have this place in mind next time I visit San F:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Top tips, trips and noms | Travelling Omnomnivore

  3. Pingback: The unforgettable fantastical Fat Duck experience | Travelling Omnomnivore

Questions? Comments? Thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on November 18, 2014 by in Noms, Small eats, Travels, USA and tagged , , , , , , .
Practical Wanderlust

Budget Travel Blog

greentealicious

A blog that explores anything green tea.

Lifestyle By Lily Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

french ideas

Fine places in France and around the world.

The Flying Sapiens

Travel Anecdotes. Told Colloquially.

A Flash Packers Guide

Books written by flash packers for the savvy traveller.

I've Got Cake

|| Food vs. Style||

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango ♪ ♪ ♪ ...

The Sweet and Savory Bite

Enjoying good food.

Journalist On The Run

Travel. Educate. Inspire.

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Dulcia Mira

Brightening Life with Homemade Desserts & Delicious Sweet Treats ~

Smiling in Sonoma

Explore Sonoma County's beauty through wine, food, music, hiking, and photography.

Everythingaroundcoffee&coffee

coffee culture, Cities, trends, roasters, love, health food, nut bars, communities,

Roses on the Road

Nomadic newlyweds exploring the meaning of home

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

