Travelling Omnomnivore

Join me on my travelling and nom nomming adventures!

How to haggle like a pro

IMG_3987.JPG
Coming from an Asian background, the whole haggling thing didn’t come as such a shock to me compared to some others when I travelled (on separate occasions) to countries known for their bazaars and souks, such as Morocco, Egypt, Turkey and Israel. In fact, some of the people I travelled with got so fed up of the whole ordeal that they decided to abandon the little market stalls in favour of souvenir shopping at large stores with fixed prices. While I can understand this sentiment, I also think that there are many reasons in favour of persevering in the markets.

1. It makes your travel experience that much richer.
Haggling is to be expected in these cultures. It’s their way of life and they even enjoy it. It’s a test of wills and determination, to see just how much they can wring out of you. So, by accepting their cups of mint tea and settling down for a haggling session, you are truly experiencing the local culture.
IMG_3981.JPG
Shisha pipes in the Grand Bazaar of Istanbul, Turkey

2. You’re supporting local businesses.
I know many people who, in their home countries, would rather pay a little bit more at their local greengrocer’s than to shop at the big name supermarkets, saying that they’re supporting local businesses. The same principle applies overseas. The small market stall owner probably depends on your business more than the large souvenir store.

IMG_3985.JPG
Spices in Marrakech, Morocco

3. You may get a good bargain.
If you adhere to some of the guidelines laid out below, you may well come away with a good deal. At least compared to shopping at a large department store.

4. You’re not ripping them off.
But don’t worry. You don’t have to feel bad when they tell you they’re practically giving you the item for free. It’s simply not true. Remember, the price is inflated about 1000% the moment you step up to the stall with that camera around your neck, flashing neon signs screaming “tourist” hovering over your head, and dollar bills painted all over your face. If they don’t think they’re making enough of a profit, they will simply refuse to sell.

IMG_3982-0.JPG
Bedazzling lamps at the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul, Turkey

So, what are my tips for nabbing a bargain in these situations?
1. Know your exchange rate
If you don’t know what the exchange rate is, you won’t know just how much you’re spending. I find xe.com to be invaluable before and during all my trips. Before my travels, I monitor the exchange rates to decide whether and when to purchase the local currency of the place I’m heading to, remembering that you get about 0.04 less than the actual exchange rate. If no dramatic fluctuations are expected, it may be better to just withdraw money from an ATM when you arrive at your destination, which is usually more representative of the actual rate. Start familiarising yourself early with the exchange rate so that you get used to doing conversions quickly when you’re there.

2. Set your limits
Now that you’re familiar with the exchange rate, decide on the upper limits that you’re willing to spend on each item. In the local currency. For instance, you can get Moroccan tea glasses for maybe $6 each in Australia, or $72 for a set of 12. Considering the hassle of carting them all the way home and the possibility of breakages, I’d probably like to spend no more than about $50 for a set of 12 glasses in Morocco. That works out at about 380 dirhams. So I’d be aiming to pay around 350-400 if possible, and it would definitely be pointless to pay more than 500. For that price, I might as well buy them back home.

3. Look but don’t touch
You know what’s worse than flashing neon signs screaming tourist? Flashing neon signs screaming tourist who wants something really badly. These signs show up if you give anything more than a cursory glance at an item, and if you handle anything, the sirens start blaring as well. Learn to look at things nonchalantly out of the corner of your eye. The vendors will notice even the slightest hint of longing. Wait for them to come over and offer you a price. Then, and only then, can you pick up the item and inspect it, as though carefully considering their offer.

IMG_3983.JPG
Bowls, plates and tagine dishes in Marrakech, Morocco

4. Feign disinterest
After you’ve inspected the item, set it down gently, shake your head and thank the vendor. You may even choose to throw in a “It’s too expensive.” Chances are, you won’t even need to. Just walk away and he (it generally is a he) will come running with a lower price. Even if he doesn’t, at least you now have a general idea of what sort of price you’re looking at. Which brings me to the next point…

5. Do your recon
If you have time, wonder around a few stalls until you know what sorts of prices each vendor is quoting. These souks and bazaars are huge and usually the ones closest to the entrance have the highest prices. The ones at the back get fewer tourists and often prices get cheaper the deeper into the markets you wander.

IMG_3984.JPG
Moroccan slippers, Marrakech

6. Offer less than your best
This is probably one of the few times you’ll hear this as a piece of advice. Haggling is a back-and-forth exchange, and if you start at your maximum bid, you have no room to move. Give yourself leeway so that you can work up towards the limit you had set for yourself. You can generally halve the initial offer from the vendor without offending them.

7. Play up your ethnicity
You know why prices aren’t marked in these markets? Not only are there local prices and tourist prices, there are also different tiers of tourist prices. When asked where I’m from, I found that I was generally quoted higher prices if I said I hailed from Australia compared to if I said I was Malaysian. They seem to think Americans and Japanese are especially wealthy and price adjust accordingly. Sorry. In fact, I often had people asking me hopefully if I was Japanese. Of course, I’m not encouraging lying. But, if like me, you were born in an Asian country other than Japan, I’d suggest citing that as the country you’re from.

IMG_3980.JPG
Ever wondered what frankincense and myrrh look like? In Jerusalem, Israel

8. Remember they need it more than you
So here’s the thing. The above are guidelines to avoid getting ripped off in the markets. But, at the end of the day, they probably need the money more than we do. Say the asking price is 50 Moroccan dirhams more than what you were wanting to spend. Ask yourself is $7 Australian really such a big deal to you?

9. Smile and enjoy yourself
Above all, remember that you’re partaking in their culture so enjoy the experience. Be firm in your dealings but polite. You may find yourself being welcomed in for the official haggling proceedings over a cup of mint tea, like I was in several carpet stores in Fes, and in a Nubian village in Aswan, Egypt. Accept graciously. It’s delicious!

IMG_3986.JPG
Clay figurines in a Nubian village in Aswan, Egypt

10. Take lots of photos
Most market vendors are pretty happy for you to take photographs of their wares, especially if you’ve purchased something. Sometimes, they’ll even ask you to take a photo of them standing proudly next to their stall. Don’t miss the opportunity to capture all the brilliant sights and colours that abound. Or unusual scenes such as these enterprising merchants who opportunistically surrounded our boat while we were trapped at the Esna Lock in Egypt.

IMG_3979.JPG

Have you had the experience of haggling in a souk or bazaar? Did you enjoy the experience or did you hate it? What goodies did you return home with?

If you enjoyed this post, please click “like” or “follow”.

6 comments on “How to haggle like a pro

  1. Smiling in Sonoma
    November 20, 2014

    Great tips! I am a mutt mix so I feel like I can fit into most cultures a little more than my hubs but the camera dangling from my neck will be a sure giveaway when we do travel! I am not good at haggling (my mom was great at it…being full Japanese) because I feel bad and just end up paying full price. Like you said, they need it more than me and if it’s a local vendor trying to put food on their table I am ok with spending a little more than I want but knowing that I will be doing that is half the battle. Pinning this for my travel bucket list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Travelling Omnomnivore
      November 20, 2014

      Glad you enjoyed it. Yes, I agree. Spending a little more is OK. I just liked to walk around a bit before buying, just to make sure i wasnt spending a LOT more. The important thing is to give yourself a budget and stick to it I think.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Smiling in Sonoma
        November 20, 2014

        Great advice! I do that at the farmers markets here. Walk around to see what everyone has and what their prices are then I go back to the best ones for me. And I am the one that feels like I should spend a little $ at each that I like to spread the love. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Travelling Omnomnivore
        November 20, 2014

        I love that concept of spreading the love!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 10 reasons to visit Morocco | Travelling Omnomnivore

  3. Pingback: 12 great travel resources | Travelling Omnomnivore

Questions? Comments? Thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2014 by in Tips, Travels, World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Practical Wanderlust

Budget Travel Blog

greentealicious

A blog that explores anything green tea.

Lifestyle By Lily Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

french ideas

Fine places in France and around the world.

The Flying Sapiens

Travel Anecdotes. Told Colloquially.

A Flash Packers Guide

Books written by flash packers for the savvy traveller.

I've Got Cake

|| Food vs. Style||

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango ♪ ♪ ♪ ...

The Sweet and Savory Bite

Enjoying good food.

Journalist On The Run

Travel. Educate. Inspire.

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Dulcia Mira

Brightening Life with Homemade Desserts & Delicious Sweet Treats ~

Smiling in Sonoma

Explore Sonoma County's beauty through wine, food, music, hiking, and photography.

Everythingaroundcoffee&coffee

coffee culture, Cities, trends, roasters, love, health food, nut bars, communities,

Roses on the Road

Nomadic newlyweds exploring the meaning of home

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

