Travelling Omnomnivore

Join me on my travelling and nom nomming adventures!

Tips for scoring an upgrade

My German adventure has started off with a bang with me being lucky enough to score an upgrade to business class for both my Perth to Dubai and Dubai to Frankfurt legs. This is the 3rd time I’ve been upgraded now. Whilst I can’t guarantee these tips will definitely work for you, these are some of the factors that I think have contributed to me being thrice lucky thus far.
IMG_4160.JPG
Breakfast at the Emirates Business Lounge in Perth

1. Be loyal
Stick to one airline and they’re more likely to reward you with an upgrade on full or oversold flights.

2. Turn up early
If the airlines need to move a few people from economy into business and business into first, they’re more likely to offer the upgrades to passengers who have arrived early. Simply put, the early bird catches the worm!

IMG_4161.JPG
Meze appetiser

3. Dress the part
The first time I ever scored an upgrade, I was early and dressed smartly in slacks, a dressy shirt and ballet flats. I wasn’t a frequent flyer in those days. I can’t say for sure, but I think that being fairly well dressed on that occasion (no tracksuit and uggs combos!) contributed to my good fortune.

4. Just ask
Again, I don’t know for sure that this works, but the 2nd time I scored an upgrade, there was s couple in the same cabin on their honeymoon, leading me to believe that those stories of casually mentioning that you’re on honeymoon at the check in counter may be real. However, I do personally know people who have simply asked whether an upgrade is available, who ended up being upgraded.

I’m not thick skinned enough to ask directly, but on this occasion, I did ask at the counter whether my bag could be tagged as priority since I’m a gold frequent flyer. The check in person asked to see my card, which led to a whole lot of clacking on the keyboard. Hmm…this is taking longer than usual, I thought, so I asked if it was a full flight. The check in person nodded then slipped a piece of laminated card under my nose. The gist of it was basically that the airline had chosen to upgrade me but I was asked to please be discrete. So there you go – speaking up, whether directly or indirectly, could potentially work for you.

IMG_4162.JPG
Selection of in flight desserts including a deliciously light and delicate orange and mandarin dome, a chocolate soufflé tart, and a mascarpone mousse. Yup, it’s all about the food!

What are your upgrade stories? Any other helpful hints to share?

If you enjoyed this post, please click “like” or “follow”.

7 comments on “Tips for scoring an upgrade

  1. annettemariebee
    November 30, 2014

    Must give your suggestions a try! What’s the worst they can say?? No?!!
    But definitely worth the ask!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. perelincolors
    November 30, 2014

    Hm, the only time I was upgraded, I was late, on an airline that I avoid if I can, had a hangover and wore the same clothes since two days since I had had an unexpected overnight stay in Chicago. But then I guess I got the upgrade precisely because the plane I was supposed to be on the day before was broken. Cannot recommend my strategy!

    Like

  3. Joanne
    December 1, 2014

    Tried the on the honeymoon thing – didn’t work for me.. but apparently worked for my sis. And I was told that if you’re traveling with kids / baby.. it’s apparently 0 chance of an upgrade… 😦

    Like

    • Travelling Omnomnivore
      December 1, 2014

      Totally see why. My bro bought business tix for the family and all the other passengers glared at them as they boarded with their 2.5 year olds! Luckily super well behaved. All the passengers told them at the end, “Your girls are so well behaved.”

      Like

  4. Pingback: 8 ways to score a flight upgrade | skyscanner.com.au | Travelling Omnomnivore

Questions? Comments? Thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2014 by in Follow me to..., Germany 2014, Tips, Travels and tagged , , .
Practical Wanderlust

Budget Travel Blog

greentealicious

A blog that explores anything green tea.

Lifestyle By Lily Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

french ideas

Fine places in France and around the world.

The Flying Sapiens

Travel Anecdotes. Told Colloquially.

A Flash Packers Guide

Books written by flash packers for the savvy traveller.

I've Got Cake

|| Food vs. Style||

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango ♪ ♪ ♪ ...

The Sweet and Savory Bite

Enjoying good food.

Journalist On The Run

Travel. Educate. Inspire.

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Dulcia Mira

Brightening Life with Homemade Desserts & Delicious Sweet Treats ~

Smiling in Sonoma

Explore Sonoma County's beauty through wine, food, music, hiking, and photography.

Everythingaroundcoffee&coffee

coffee culture, Cities, trends, roasters, love, health food, nut bars, communities,

Roses on the Road

Nomadic newlyweds exploring the meaning of home

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

