Travelling Omnomnivore

Join me on my travelling and nom nomming adventures!

5 for Friday – Bryce Canyon

I still have a fair few drafts to complete from my recent trip to Germany, but thought I’d take a little break today to show you another beautiful part of the world. I’ve had requests to write about Spain, Italy and the USA. To my friends who submitted these requests, thank you for your interest in what I have to say, and rest assured I have not forgotten. I simply need more hours in a day! Don’t we all?

Today, I wanted to draw attention to Bryce Canyon National Park in Utah, USA. We’ve all heard and probably seen photos, movies and documentaries featuring the other great American canyon. Grand as it truly is, it was actually Bryce that took my heart and my breath away.

At Bryce, you’ll find a vast expanse filled with tall and rugged geological structures known as hoodoos. Carved over the years by wind, water and frost, these hoodoos reminded me somewhat of another otherworldly landscape, Cappadocia in Turkey. What sets Bryce apart is the layered appearance imparted by alternating white, red and orange rocks. The result is a spectacular vista that commands your attention at every turn as you hike along the canyon and is especially stunning towards the end of the day when the rays of the setting sun bring out an extra depth and richness to the colours.

I really wish I could have spent more time hiking down to the bottom of the canyon for a different view. Or to have at least spent another full morning there so I could see the sun rise over the hoodoos. Instead, all we got on our group tour was a roughly 2 hour hike around one rim of the canyon, during which I snapped furiously away and hoped that I would end up with at least half a dozen photos that would capture some measure of its majesty. With such splendid views before me, I am reminded:

O Lord, how manifold are thy works! In wisdom hast thou made them all: the earth is full of thy riches. (‭Psalm 104‬:‭24‬ KJV)

2015/01/img_4915.jpg

2015/01/img_4916.jpg

2015/01/img_4908.jpg

2015/01/img_4917.jpg

2015/01/img_4911.jpg

Have you been to Bryce Canyon? Which hikes would you recommend doing should I be lucky enough to return there?

If you enjoyed this post, please click “like” or “follow”.

3 comments on “5 for Friday – Bryce Canyon

  1. Cindy Naidoo
    January 17, 2015

    Beautiful pics, captures the beauty of the place absolutely!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Travelling Omnomnivore
      January 17, 2015

      Thanks so much! So encouraging, because I always think my pictures don’t do justice to the places I’ve been to, especially the natural landscapes.

      Like

  2. Rita Selvarat
    January 19, 2015

    One of my favorite places in Southwest. Made a trip in 2011 and was just blown away of it’s beauty. My daughter and I are planning another trip in the future. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Questions? Comments? Thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2015 by in 5 for Friday, Travels, USA and tagged , , , , .
Practical Wanderlust

Budget Travel Blog

greentealicious

A blog that explores anything green tea.

Lifestyle By Lily Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

french ideas

Fine places in France and around the world.

The Flying Sapiens

Travel Anecdotes. Told Colloquially.

A Flash Packers Guide

Books written by flash packers for the savvy traveller.

I've Got Cake

|| Food vs. Style||

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango ♪ ♪ ♪ ...

The Sweet and Savory Bite

Enjoying good food.

Journalist On The Run

Travel. Educate. Inspire.

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Dulcia Mira

Brightening Life with Homemade Desserts & Delicious Sweet Treats ~

Smiling in Sonoma

Explore Sonoma County's beauty through wine, food, music, hiking, and photography.

Everythingaroundcoffee&coffee

coffee culture, Cities, trends, roasters, love, health food, nut bars, communities,

Roses on the Road

Nomadic newlyweds exploring the meaning of home

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

