Travelling Omnomnivore

Join me on my travelling and nom nomming adventures!

Perth – Fortysevenkirwanstreet

This corner cafe tucked away in a quiet northern suburb has such an unimaginative name that I would consider it innovative. At least you’d never forget the street address.

I met a friend there for Sunday lunch, and was a bit disappointed to see a lunch menu handed to me. It was one of the top 10 breakfast places on STM’s top 100 places to eat list last year, and I was hoping there’d be an all day breakfast menu. Perhaps it was just as well, as I’d have found it hard to go past their French toast or granola, described as being “the healthy version of Coco Pops”. I’m pretty sure neither of these would have cut the mustard with my PT as being a healthy option.

Like so many places these days, the menu came on a mini clipboard.

IMG_5142

The grilled ham hock and poached egg on toasted brioche ($19.90) was the immediate stand out for me, and I convinced myself this was a reasonable option since I hadn’t had breakfast yet and because my PT had been suggesting I breakfast on eggs with vegetables and, if I absolutely must, one piece of toast. I think this dish filled the brief, don’t you?

IMG_5145

The brioche was probably a bit more buttery than my PT would have liked, but this gave it a lovely crunch whilst still being soft inside thanks to the thick cut. The ham hock was tender and tasty, a bit like luncheon meat but with a pulled pork sort of texture. It was a tad on the salty side, so a few more greens and a more generous serve of pickled onions would have been appreciated. The pickled onions had a nice vinegary flavour that complemented the mustard on the side and went well with the salty ham. The egg on top burst with a small trickle of golden yolk. Although still soft and moist, most of the yolk remained intact within the white. Compared to the poached egg at Typika the day before, this one was slightly overdone.

IMG_5147

I was glad that my lunch buddy chose the corn and ricotta fritters ($16.90). This had been my 2nd choice on the menu, but I’d decided against it in the end as I figured the fritters would likely have been fried. Still, I couldn’t say no when I was offered a bite. The fritters were beautifully crisp with a sweet and creamy core. The avocado added more creaminess while the jalapeño sour cream added spice and tanginess. The result was a fresh tasting Mexican inspired dish that in retrospect was probably the healthier option after all.

IMG_5144

To go with the meal, I ordered my now usual long macch. This had a slight bitterness to it not unlike the one I’d had at Typika, but despite the bitter note, had an overall weaker flavour and aroma. The apple art on top was slightly lopsided, again similar to the one at Typika. Sprolo is still coming up trumps for me in terms of the coffee.

IMG_5143

Service:
The wait staff weren’t exactly friendly and smiley, but neither were they rude, and they were certainly efficient and attentive. I turned up smack on 12.30pm, and barely stood 5 seconds by the “please wait to be seated” sign before being ushered to a corner table by the window. My friend turned up 5 minutes later, and a couple of minutes after that, our waiter asked if we were ready to order. As we’d been busy chatting, my friend hadn’t had a chance to look at the menu. No problem. Our waiter gave us another 5 minutes before returning to take our orders. The food came out in a timely enough fashion. Plates were cleared not long after we finished our meals, but we weren’t rushed when we stayed behind to finish our coffees and have more of a chat. When we got up to leave, the staff thanked us from the kitchen, which I thought was nice.

Ambience:
I had to disagree with STM’s description of the space as “pretty” and “decidedly Vogue living”. It felt more like a corner deli or fish and chip shop to me. The surroundings were simple and utilitarian. Perfectly adequate for casual dining, but nothing to get excited about.

IMG_5141

Cost:
With almost all the lunches priced within the $18-20 range, this is a slightly more affordable option than other trendier places I’ve been to recently.

Hours:
Monday-Sunday 7am-4.30pm

Getting there:
47 Kirwan St, Floreat
Tel: 9287 2819

Verdict:
Enjoyable enough but nothing to rave about. There are other places I’d rather head to for lunch, but I wouldn’t mind returning to check out the breakfast menu.

Fortysevenkirwanstreet on Urbanspoon

If you enjoyed this post, please click “like” or “follow”.

Travelling Omnomnivore

Promote your Page too

Questions? Comments? Thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2015 by in Cafes, Noms, Perth and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Practical Wanderlust

Budget Travel Blog

greentealicious

A blog that explores anything green tea.

Lifestyle By Lily Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

french ideas

Fine places in France and around the world.

The Flying Sapiens

Travel Anecdotes. Told Colloquially.

A Flash Packers Guide

Books written by flash packers for the savvy traveller.

I've Got Cake

|| Food vs. Style||

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango ♪ ♪ ♪ ...

The Sweet and Savory Bite

Enjoying good food.

Journalist On The Run

Travel. Educate. Inspire.

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Dulcia Mira

Brightening Life with Homemade Desserts & Delicious Sweet Treats ~

Smiling in Sonoma

Explore Sonoma County's beauty through wine, food, music, hiking, and photography.

Everythingaroundcoffee&coffee

coffee culture, Cities, trends, roasters, love, health food, nut bars, communities,

Roses on the Road

Nomadic newlyweds exploring the meaning of home

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

