Travelling Omnomnivore

Join me on my travelling and nom nomming adventures!

Perth – Harvest Espresso, Autumn 2015

It’s been 2 weeks since I returned from my amazing trip to Japan, and I’ve been initially too tired, and then too caught up with work to tend to this poor little blog of mine. That’s not to say I haven’t been dining. Indeed, I have a LONG list of posts I wish I had the time to get around to writing. I thought I’d kick things off by re-visiting an old favourite.

I don’t know how it happened, but I allowed far too many months to go by since I last dined at Harvest in Spring 2014. I am devastated that I never got to taste their exceedingly popular and beautifully presented Tonka Toast. Just check out this incredibly mouthwatering image from their website.

And while you’re there, do check out their gallery of seasonal variations to the menu, and you’ll soon realise why Harvest has established itself as a firm favourite amongst so many. It is for this reason that I’ve never arrived at Harvest without there being a queue at the door.

Luckily, turnover is pretty quick. On this instance, as with my previous visits, I was seated within about half an hour. After my trip to Tokyo, this is really just a short wait!

Sadly, my top 2 choices (the waffles and smoked cod on potato rosti) weren’t available by the time I was seated. No matter, for the other options on this year’s Autumn menu sounded equally enticing.

Since I wasn’t going to be having the waffles, I decided to order an almond croissant to share with my friend. Instead of my usual coffee, I decided to also try the chocolate matcha latte.
 
The croissant had a lovely light flavour, but the texture wasn’t quite what I’d expect for a croissant. Instead of being crisp and flaky, it was more dense with a subtle crunch, somewhat akin to the edge of a brownie. Once I got used to it, I quite enjoyed the variation.

The chocolate matcha latte, on the other hand, was simply divine. It had a strong flavour that was tempered by the creaminess and sweet chocolate. I highly recommend this for green tea lovers.

Appetites whet, we waited in eager anticipation of our main meals. I had ordered the roasted cauliflower with almond crumble, slow cooked eggs and crispy kataifi.

This is a delicious choice for those after a healthier option. The cauliflower was cooked to perfection, being tender with just the right amount of give. I loved the contrasting textures of the slightly firm cauliflower with the crisp kataifi, the crunch and subtle sweetness of the almond crumble and the creaminess from the runny egg yolk. At Harvest, they always get the eggs just right.

My friend ordered the grilled squid with tomato medley compote, morcilla and chicken liver pate on sourdough.

This is another well balanced dish, both in terms of flavours and textures. The tomatoes added a freshness that complemented the saltiness of the pate and morcilla well, and the squid was also cooked perfectly, being chewy but not rubbery.


In my previous post, I had said that the service at Harvest can be a bit hit and miss. Not only did the people at Harvest take this well, they even posted my previous review on their Facebook page and thanked me for it! So props to them for being able to take constructive criticism – they have won my respect and can now add me to their list of people who regard them as a favourite breakfast/brunch spot. For more details about costs, hours and how to get there, click here.

And, as always, if you enjoyed this post, please click “like” or “follow”.

 Travelling Omnomnivore  Promote your Page too

 

Questions? Comments? Thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2015 by in Cafes, Noms, Perth and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Practical Wanderlust

Budget Travel Blog

greentealicious

A blog that explores anything green tea.

Lifestyle By Lily Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

french ideas

Fine places in France and around the world.

The Flying Sapiens

Travel Anecdotes. Told Colloquially.

A Flash Packers Guide

Books written by flash packers for the savvy traveller.

I've Got Cake

|| Food vs. Style||

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango ♪ ♪ ♪ ...

The Sweet and Savory Bite

Enjoying good food.

Journalist On The Run

Bringing Stories Homes

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Dulcia Mira

Brightening Life with Homemade Desserts & Delicious Sweet Treats ~

Smiling in Sonoma

Explore Sonoma County's beauty through wine, food, music, hiking, and photography.

Everythingaroundcoffee&coffee

coffee culture, Cities, trends, roasters, love, health food, nut bars, communities,

Roses on the Road

Nomadic newlyweds exploring the meaning of home

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

