Travelling Omnomnivore

Join me on my travelling and nom nomming adventures!

Brisbane – Marketta Mt Gravatt

I’ve been in Brisbane for about 3 months (already?!) and had Internet at home for about 1 month. So for a while now, I’ve been thinking to myself that it’s high time to update you all on what’s been going on in my life. You can bet there’s been quite some food and a fair bit of holiday planning involved!

I first caught wind of the Mt Gravatt Marketta through a friend’s Facebook feed. Eager to explore more of my new home city, I dragged my family along to the launch night on August 13.

Truth be told, I wasn’t very hungry when we arrived at about 5pm. But with young kids in tow, I’ve had to adapt my weekend dinner times to suit. If, like me, you’re thinking of browsing through bric-a-brac in order to work up an appetite, think again. This is purely a food market with two long rows of food trucks and stalls set up on either side of a grassed area. My advice is to come hungry!

There are tables and chairs set up close to the entrance, but as you can see from the photo above, taken not long after we arrived, unless you front up at opening time, your best bet is to bring your own foldable chairs or picnic mat to sit on.

Close to the entrance, you’ll find the public amenities, ATMs for your convenience, and a music band. But really, this market is all about the food. And what a selection there is on offer!

The French pies were the first items to catch my attention.

Followed by the injectable cronuts.

And these delectable desserts.

What can I say? I actually don’t eat much sugar anymore, but there’s just something so visually enticing about sweets! Here I am trying to photograph the Transylvanian langos which I managed to sample for free, and I’ve somehow managed to spotlight the crepes instead.

In case you’re wondering, langos are fried Hungarian flat breads. The one I sampled was topped with garlic, cheese and tomatoes, and was packed full of flavour!

We ordered “chicken on a stick” for our little omnomnivores, which they were happy to eat, but are actually a tad dry. Save your appetites and get your satays from Taste of Penang instead!

Unbelievably to me, with the range of food that was on offer, the longest queue was to be found at the Tornado Potato truck. But that’s what the girls asked for, so what else is a doting auntie to do if not to wait in line for a good 15-20 minutes or so? At $5 a stick, this is actually a pretty cheap feed as you get an entire potato. I polished off the half that Miss E couldn’t finish, and that was me done for the night. I loved the crispiness of the thinly sliced spud, but the grease and salt was just a bit too much for my now detoxed system to handle.

Shame, really, as it was this Latin American food truck serving up plantains and gorditas that had really caught my eye on this occasion.

I was also somewhat intrigued by the concept of curry in a cone.

And pigs may not fly but they certainly do fry. Quite a clever play on accents, if you ask me.

The place was packed by about 5.30pm, making it difficult to take photos, but you should look out for the sugar cane stall. The passionfruit sugar cane juice was deliciously refreshing.

You’ll also find German bratwursts and spatzle, churros, oysters, calamari rings, pizzas, various burger joints, Japanese, Korean, Thai, Vietnamese and Malaysian stalls, and several licensed bars.

L finished off the night with a plate of crepes for $12.

These were thin and tasty, but nothing out of the ordinary. I’m still eyeing off those cronuts!

Fancy checking out the Marketta too? You’ll find them…

Where? Mt Gravatt Showgrounds, 1644 Logan Road

When? Saturdays, 4-10pm, “rain, hail or shine” – there was a huge queue at the entrance by the time we left at about 6.30pm, so my advice is to either arrive early like we did, or perhaps wait a few weeks until the hype has died down

How? $2 entry fee for adults, free for kids 0-16

Why? Eat your way around the world!

Who? Bring the whole family or a group of friends and order a few dishes to share. Don’t forget that picnic rug!

If you enjoyed this post and would like to join me as I discover more of Brisbane (and the world), please click “like” or “follow”.

Travelling Omnomnivore

Promote your Page too

Questions? Comments? Thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2016 by in Brisbane, Noms, Small eats and tagged , , , , , , , .
Practical Wanderlust

Budget Travel Blog

greentealicious

A blog that explores anything green tea.

Lifestyle By Lily Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

Perth-Melbourne Food & Lifestyle Blog

french ideas

Fine places in France and around the world.

The Flying Sapiens

Travel Anecdotes. Told Colloquially.

A Flash Packers Guide

Books written by flash packers for the savvy traveller.

I've Got Cake

|| Food vs. Style||

Fae's Twist & Tango

Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango ♪ ♪ ♪ ...

The Sweet and Savory Bite

Enjoying good food.

Journalist On The Run

Travel. Educate. Inspire.

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Dulcia Mira

Brightening Life with Homemade Desserts & Delicious Sweet Treats ~

Smiling in Sonoma

Explore Sonoma County's beauty through wine, food, music, hiking, and photography.

Everythingaroundcoffee&coffee

coffee culture, Cities, trends, roasters, love, health food, nut bars, communities,

Roses on the Road

Nomadic newlyweds exploring the meaning of home

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

